Get your Vitamin D!

When the new year rolled around I had all these big goals and plans for kicking the year off to a good start. The usual which included working out, eating healthy, reading more, etc. But I just didn’t have the energy. I wondered around like a zombie for a couple of months wondering why I could not get myself motivated, or out of bed for that matter. Typically a morning person, I’ve been pushing snooze about 10-15 times every morning! This is even after a night of 8-9 hours of sleep.  Even bringing my son late into school which is not the normal. I was eating healthy but feeling awful. This time of year can be hard for most people so I kept thinking I will snap out of it. After a couple of months of being in a constant brain fog I decided to go in and get checked out. According to my blood test showed my vitamin D level was extremely low.

Levels of vitamin D are expressed in nanomoles/liter (nmol/L) or nanograms/milliliter (ng/mL). According to the Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS), the results can indicate the following:

  • deficiency: less than 30 nmol/L (12 ng/mL)
  • potential deficiency: between 30 nmol/L (12 ng/mL) and 50 nmol/L (20 ng/mL)
  • normal levels: between 50 nmol/L (20 ng/mL) and 125 nmol/L (50 ng/mL)
  • high levels: higher than 125 nmol/L (50 ng/mL)

My level came back as a 5!

Here are symptoms to look for in having low vitamin D:

  • difficulty thinking clearly (brain fog)
  • bone pain
  • frequent bone fractures
  • muscle weakness
  • soft bones that may result in deformities
  • unexplained fatigue
  • insulin resistance, which affects your ability to use insulin to process blood sugars
  • impaired immune system functioning, which puts you at a higher risk for infection

Symptoms may vary but brain fog, fatigue, and muscle weakness hit me hard.

While this information isn’t anything new I thought I would share if it could help anyone feeling these symptoms. Vitamin D deficiencies don’t always cause symptoms until levels get very low or have been low for some time. This can make the condition difficult to diagnose. Sometimes getting some good old sunshine just doesn’t work! While I am on a supplement now it can still take weeks or months to replenish. Check with your doctor on a blood test and the correct dosage right for you.

add-subtitle-text-2

Spring anyone?!

Blessings, Bre

Leave a Reply

