Plant-Based Eating

I’ve been following or researching the plant-based diet for about a year but just couldn’t commit to it, or it was too daunting to think about making the change. I continued to eat meat and dairy products at every meal, even knowing the side effects. In fact, most “diets” I have been on were low carb/high fat, which included a A LOT of meat, and a lot of dairy! While I was Still eating a lot of plant-based foods, at least one or two meals per day included eggs and or meat. About a year ago a friend sent me a YouTube video by Dr. Greger called Food as Medicine: Preventing and Treating the Most Common Diseases with Diet https://youtu.be/d0IhZ-R1O8g deep down I knew I should make the change, but again the odds were staked against me (in my head:) and I LOVE meat!! I would recommend the video for everyone, even if you are not thinking of changing over to a plant-based diet as it was very eye opening!

It took me finally getting my cholesterol checked last month to really realize a change needs to be made. The results were eye-opening..borderline high/high.  But since I had a good HDL level (good cholesterol) and a low triglyceride number, doc says I am in the clear for now. However since heart disease runs in my family (my biological father has had a triple bypass) and all 4 of my grandparents suffered from heart attacks, it was suggested I make some changes.

Where I am going with this is, out of all the diets/eating plans I have researched over the years the one that kept coming back to me that prevents heart disease, cancer, lowers cholesterol, and many other benefits is that of a plant-based diet.

I have yet to make the official commitment, however I have been experimenting this past week with mostly whole/plant-based foods. I am actually surprised that I do not miss meat or eggs! Cheese either. I haven’t drank much milk or had much yogurt in the past few years so that part has been easy. I honestly did not know how I was going to function without eggs! I’m not sure if it’s a coincidence but I have a lot more energy as well.

I know there’s a lot of conflicting information/opinions out there but I would love to hear from anyone who eats this way and has had positive results.

I made this coconut curry in the crockpot a couple of days ago and it was amazing! You would  be surprised at how much flavor there was without meat. Now I’m off to make cauliflower fried rice, but with no eggs;)

Blessings, Bre

https://www.simplyquinoa.com/slow-cooker-coconut-quinoa-curry/

One thought on “Plant-Based Eating

  1. lorrie says:

    I read Dr. Furhman’s “Eat to Live” and lost a lot of weight and built considerable muscle on his “Nutritarian” diet. I have back slid mostly with dairy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

